Sarah de Rijcke | Researcher ID:                 




02/2010           PhD cum laude, Social Sciences, STS                                    University of Groningen

04/2002           M.A., Psychology                                                                     University of Groningen




From 2019       Scientific Director Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS), Leiden University

From 2019       Co-chair Research on Research Institute (RoRI)

From 2018       Professor of Science, Technology and Innovation Studies, Leiden University

2016-2018       Associate Professor in Science and Evaluation Studies, Leiden University

2011-2015       Assistant Professor in Science and Evaluation Studies, Leiden University

2009-2011       Post-doctoral researcher, VKS, Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences

2004-2009       PhD Candidate, Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Groningen

                        1st year Bachelor Coordinator Psychology (2007-09)



2019                ZonMw Implementation Grant, Fostering Responsible Research Practices Program 

2018                ERC Starting Grant (2019-2023)

2017                Special Recognition Award, World Cultural Council (WCC)

2017                PI competitive ZonMw Grant, Fostering Responsible Research Practices Program

2016                Member of Young Academy of Europe (

2016                EASST Ziman Award for The Leiden Manifesto - declaration, website and network

2016                NIAS-Lorentz grant "Rethinking Impact Factors," co-applicant

2016                Aspasia internationalization grant, Leiden University

2015                Anna Boyksen grant for outstanding scientists, TU Munich - Institute for Advanced Study

2015                Invited member Science in Transition think-tank (

2014                NIAS-Lorentz grant “Authorship in Transition,” coordinating applicant



Since 2020     Member UNESCO Open Science Advisory Committee - Representative for the Netherlands
Since 2020     Member Dutch Taskforce on Responsible Management of Research Information and Data,
                       Association of Universities in the Netherlands (VSNU), The Netherlands Federation of
                       University Medical Centres (NFU) and The Dutch Research Council (NWO)
Since 2020     Co-Chair High-level Steering Group Recognition and Reward Leiden University
2020               Member National Think-Tank ZonMW Fostering Responsible Research Practices Program

Since 2019     International Scientific Advisory Board Austrian Science Fund (FWF), Austria
Since 2019     Scientific Advisory Board, Munich Center for Technology in Society (MCTS), TU Munich
2018-2019      EC group SAPEA Making sense of science under conditions of complexity and uncertainty 
2018-2019      TU Munich Ambassador

Since 2018     Panel Social Sciences NWO Veni Innovation Scheme, Domain SSH (VENI SGW)

Since 2018      Editorial Board Member Palgrave Communications

Since 2018      Editorial Board Member Science, Technology & Human Values (ST&HV)

Since 2017      Scientific Advisory Board, Institute for Advanced Studies, Vienna

2017                Expert Committee, PREF, IRCRES, European Commission, DG JRC, Brussels

Since 2016      Elected Council Member, European Association for the Study of Science and Technology

2016-2019       Editorial Board, Science and Technology Studies

2016                Scientific advisory board, European FP-7-SIS project GenderTIME conference, Paris

Since 2012      Editorial Board, Interdisciplinary Science Reviews

2011-2014       Scientific Advisory Board, ORA project NESSHI - The Neuroturn in SSH

2010-2014       Scientific Advisory Board, Picturing the Brain, funded by Research Council Norway

2011                Scientific Advisory Board, Encounters with Science. University of Uppsala, Sweden




2015-2017       Visiting Fellow, TU Munich Institute for Advanced Study (TUM-IAS)

2015 (Spring)  Visiting professor, Department for Science and Technology Studies, University of Vienna

2011 (Fall)       Visiting professor, New Media and Digital Culture, Utrecht University

2010 (Fall)       Visiting research fellow, University of California at San Diego

2007 (Winter)   Pre-doctoral research fellow, Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin




Since 2019       Scientific Director, Centre for Science and Technology Studies, Leiden University

Since 2016       Deputy Director, Centre for Science and Technology Studies, Leiden University

Since 2012       Board Member, Centre for Science and Technology Studies, Leiden University

Since 2011       Research Group leader, Centre for Science and Technology Studies, Leiden University

2007-2009        Coordinator, 1st year Bachelor Program in Psychology, University of Groningen

2007-2008        PhD Student Representative, Faculty Social Sciences, University of Groningen

2006                 Chair PhD Committee Psychology, University of Groningen




2009-present   Social Studies of Science; Biosocieties; Science, Technology & Human Values; Engaging

                         Science, Technology and Society (ESTS); Research Evaluation; Journal American Society

                         for Information Science and Technology; Research Policy




2009                Current Member, Society for Social Studies of Science (international)

2008                Current Member, European Association for the Study of Science and Technology (EASST)

2004                Current Member, Dutch Graduate Research School Science, Technology & Modern Culture

Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS)

Leiden University

© 2015 by Sarah de Rijcke. Created with

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon