Sarah joined the Centre for Science & Technology Studies (CWTS) at Leiden University in the Spring of 2011, where she is currently Professor in Science, Technology and Innovation Studies and Scientific Director of the institute.


Her long-term research interest is to examine the interactions between science governance and knowledge creation. She has a strong international reputation in Science and Technology Studies (STS), with specific training and expertise in social studies of research evaluation.

Sarah's research has been taken up by a host of international bodies. She recurrently acts as expert advisor in European and global science policy initiatives. Most recently, she was invited to represent the Netherlands in a high-level UNESCO Expert Group to write a global recommendation on Open Science (2020-2021).

She serves as Board member of the Netherlands Graduate Research School of Science, Technology and Modern Culture (WTMC) and as Council member of the European Association for the Study of Science and Technology (EASST). She is a member of multiple scientific advisory boards in Europe, including those of the Austrian Science Fund (FWF), the Institute for Advanced Studies in Vienna, and the Munich Center for Technology in Society (TU Munich).

Sarah is Editorial Board member of Science, Technology & Human Values (ST&HV); The Global Epistemics Book SeriesInterdisciplinary Science Reviews, and Social Sciences and Humanities Communications.

In 2019, she received a ZonMW-grant for the project 'Stimulating Academic Gatekeeper Engagement in responsible research assessment (SAGE)' (with Guus Dix).

In 2018, she received an ERC Starting Grant for the project 'FluidKnowledge - How evaluation shapes ocean science.' (2019-2023).

In February 2017, she received a ZonMw Fostering Responsible Research Practices grant for the project 'Optimizing the responsible researcher: towards fair and constructive academic advancement'.


As of June 2016, she is an elected member of the Young Academy of Europe.

From 2015 - 2017, Sarah was an Anna Boyksen Fellow at the TU Munich Institute for Advanced Study & the Munich Centre for Technology in Society (MCTS). She was a visiting professor at the STS department in Vienna in 2015, a visiting research fellow at UC San Diego in 2010 and a visiting pre-doc at the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science in 2007. 


Before coming to Leiden she held a postdoctoral position at the Virtual Knowledge Studio with Anne Beaulieu (KNAW, Amsterdam).


In 2010, she received her PhD with honors from the University of Groningen, with Douwe Draaisma & Trudy Dehue.



Evaluation Studies


Young Academy of Europe

The YAE is a pan-European initiative of outstanding young scientists for networking, scientific exchange and science policy. The YAE is organized as a bottom-up initiative of a dynamic and innovative group of recognized European young scientists and scholars with outspoken views about science and science policy. We provide input and advice from a younger generation's perspective

Social Theory


Constitutive effects of indicators


History of scientific objectivity

Situated intervention


Scholarly Netherlands Graduate Research School of Science, Technology and Modern Culture. 


European Association for the Study of Science and Technology. Established in 1981, it is the organization which represents academics and researchers in the fields of science and technology studies, the social analysis of innovation, and related areas of knowledge.


Society for the Social Studies of Science. Scholarly society. The main purpose is to bring together those interested in understanding science, technology, and medicine, including the way they develop and interact with their social contexts.